June 28, 2024 – The most prestigious poker series for amateur poker players is here with the World Championship of Amateur Poker (WCOAP) announcing its confirmed dates. The event will run from August 18 to 26 in Dusk Till Dawn located in Nottingham, England.

The nine-day event is a much-anticipated prestigious event with poker players from different formats from around the world participating. The Amateur Poker Association & Tour (APAT) typically gives out bronze, silver, and gold medals to the top three finishers. Still, the WCOAP pulls out some stylish bracelets for players to commemorate their achievements, adding an extra layer of prestige and excitement to the competition.

The birthplace of British poker, Dusk Till Dawn, will welcome amateur players from all around the world to battle with other poker enthusiasts on a variety of games, including Crazy Pineapple, PLO8, H.O.R.S.E., Triple Stud, 8-Game, and No-Limit Hold'em/Pot-Limit Omaha mix.

WCOAP Demand

The much acclaimed WCOAP tournament is one that everyone who enters desires to win, it is the most prestigious and has the biggest reward fund. There are four flights available, one of which is a turbo-structured Day 1d. Every Day 1 is a freezeout that goes down to the final 15% of players; the top 15% advance to Day 2 with a min-cash in hand.

Everybody wants to win the World Amateur Poker Championship, or WCOAP competition. It has the largest reward fund and is the most prestigious. The schedule is as follows:

Date Time Event Buy-in
August 18th 2 pm World Amateur Poker Night Championship Day 1a  £210
August 21st 4 pm WCOAP International Team Championship £140
  5 pm WCOAP H.O.R.S.E Championship £140
  6 pm WCOAP NLHE Turbo Championship £70
  8 pm WCOAP International Team Championship (STT/HU)  

Four flights are offered, one of which being a Day 1d turbo structured flight. Every Day 1 is a freezeout that lasts until the last 15% of players remain; the top 15% get to move on to Day 2 and receive a minimum of cash.

In 2023, WCOAP had a smaller buy-in at only £180 which eventually led to the prize pool upping to £104,400 which was split evenly by the top 103 finishers.